Introduction: Open Social Users and Roles

Open Social • 5 April 2017
0 comments
1 likes

Welcome to Open Social.

 

We want to help you understand our platform better, so here's a short introduction to the users, roles, and permissions of Open Social.

 

The Users

 

Open Social is meant to be a community-driven platform. This means that most of the content and interaction should come from the community members and should grow organically. This is why we’ve put as little limitations and restrictions on the users as possible.
 

Roles

Open Social comes with several standard roles for members, each with a different set of permissions. Distributing these roles makes your community scalable. It allows different users to manage specific parts of the community, without providing too many permissions to break/disturb the site.
 

  • Anonymous user (AN). Users that have not logged in. They are not allowed to perform actions on OS. They only have limited access to public content and are not able to see the profiles of members.

  • Authenticated or logged-in user (LU). Users that have registered for the platform. They can post comments, edit and create content, events, and groups. They can also join other groups and events.

  • Content manager (CM). Users who are in charge of the daily operation of the platform. They can delete and unpublish any content, posts, comments, and groups. Editing content is limited in order to guarantee that editorial rights remain with the original author of the content.

  • Site manager (SM). Users who are in charge of the configuration and management of the platform and are able to manage all user accounts.

  • Group Manager/Event Manager (GM/EM). When an LU creates a group or an event, they automatically become the group or event manager. This gives them the extra permissions related to member management in the group or event. 
     

Read more about how to assign a role to a user.


Visibility

The ability for a user to see content is not only defined by roles but also by the visibility setting of the content. All content has two visibility settings: public or community. Public content is visible to all users including anonymous users. Community content is only visible to logged-in users, content managers, and site managers. Whether the content is public or not is defined by different factors:
 

  • Where the content has been created in; for example, content in closed groups is only visible to group members.

  • Who created the content; in some cases, the user creating the content can decide which level of visibility is applied

  • Content settings; the settings the site manager chose for the community has an impact on content visibility. 

 

Here is more information about how to set content visibility

Further relevant information: