Post, Events and Topics have two visibility settings:
- Public. All users including the users who have not logged in (anonymous users) can see this content.
- Community. Only users who have logged in can see this content.
- Note: If posts, events or topics are created inside a closed group, the visibility of this content is forced to Group members
When a piece of content is created outside a group, the visibility of this piece of content can be configured for this specific content. When a piece of content is created inside a group, the visibility of this piece of content is set by the group it belongs to.
Sitewide visibility settings:
Disable public visibility option
If you don't want regular users to be able to create public content, you can disable this for all users. Go to > dashboard and then > 'Public Visibility Settings'.
When public visibility is disabled:
- Regular users can not create content that is visible to anonymous users.
- Content managers and site managers can still create content visible to anonymous users, they can even make the content of normal users public by editing their content.
- When changing the visibility to public: the original author is still able to edit his content, but he is not allowed to change the visibility setting.
Default visibility setting
As a site manager, it is also possible to set the default visibility setting to public or community. This helps in avoiding users creating public content without really noticing it.