A Group allows a set of users to share ideas and organize events with each other around one specific subject. It can be seen as smaller communities within a bigger community. You are free to choose the subject that is suitable such as a hobby, a task or a expertise.
In each group you can find:
Stream. Activities in a group
Events. Events organized in a group
Topics. Topics created in a group
Members. Members of a group. If you are a group manager, you can also manage the members of the group.
About. Detailed information of a group. If you are a group manager, you can modify the information of a group.
Another interesting read:
There are three different types of groups you can create:
- Public Group: Public groups and their content are visible to everyone, including those that are not logged into the platform. However, people can only post or comment on group content or enroll in group events after logging into the platform and joining the group.
- Open Group: Open groups are groups that members within the community (logged-in to the platform) can join without permission from the group manager. All the posts, events, and topics in the open group are visible to other users on the platform. Non-group members cannot create content in the group or comment on any of the posts, events, or topics unless they join the open group.
- Closed Group: A closed group is a group where members within the community (logged-in to the platform) can only join by invitation from one of the group managers. The stream, events, and topics created in the closed group are not visible to people that are not a member of the group. A non-group member is only allowed to read the about page, the group manager, and the members of the group.
- Secret Group: This group behaves like a closed group but the group itself and its content won't be visible to non-members anywhere in the community. So, for example, this group type won't be visible for non-members on the overview pages (like the 'All Groups' page), activity stream (when creating a new group), sections (like the 'Newest topics' section, when creating a topic within this group), user profiles (on the Group tab) or the search results. When entering the URL directly into your browser, a non-member gets redirected to the “page not found” page to ensure the existence of the group doesn’t leak.
(Please note that all the content managers and site managers will be able to see all the Secret Groups!)
Want to see secret group in action? Watch: https://youtu.be/rpNrQQM8xeg
Create, edit and delete
- You can add a group by using the ‘+’ button in the header menu.
- Then you can decide to create a public, open, closed or secret group. Once a group is created, the group type can only be changed by the content or site managers.
- You can also add a group via the group overview page of your own profile.
- When a group has a physical location, it can be specified for this group as well.
- The group manager, content managers, and site managers can edit the group information, delete and manage the memberships of all groups.
- On top of that, content managers and site managers can manage the content within the group as well.
- You can only delete a group managed by you.
- A group can be deleted on the edit group page.
- Note that deleting a closed group will also delete all of the posts, events, and topics created in the closed group.
The Group Manager
When you create a group, you automatically become the group manager. You can only manage the members of a group that is managed by you.
The group managers is also show to other users, on the about page.
A group manager can:
- Add users to an open, public, closed or secret group
- Add multiple users at once by separating each user with a comma (',')
- Change the role of members into a group manager, group admin or normal group member
- Remove members from a group.
- Email members
(Note: when removing members from a closed or secret group they will not be able to see the content anymore, including the content they have created themselves.)
The Group Admin
The group admin has similar permissions as the group manager but does not appear in the group manager block on the about page.
Group admins are also not labeled like that in the group member overview.
Site- and content managers always have the permissions to edit groups that are not created by themselves. This is independent of the fact that they joined the group or not.
If they join a group, they are granted the role of group admin automatically. They have the rights to edit the group, but they are not perse the group manager. If they are also the group manager, this role should be granted to them. That will make them appear in the ' group managers' list, so members know who to contact for questions about the group.