A Group allows a set of users to share ideas and organize events with each other around one specific subject. It can be seen as smaller communities within a bigger community. You are free to choose the subject that is suitable such as a hobby, a task or a expertise.
In each group you can find:
Stream. Activities in a group
Events. Events organized in a group
Topics. Topics created in a group
Members. Members of a group. If you are a group manager, you can also manage the members of the group.
About. Detailed information of a group. If you are a group manager, you can modify the information of a group.
Another interesting read:
There are three different types of groups you can create:
- Public Group: Public groups and their content are visible to everyone, including those that are not logged into the platform. However, people can only post or comment on group content or enroll in group events after logging into the platform and joining the group.
- Open Group: Open groups are groups that members within the community (logged-in to the platform) can join without permission from the group manager. All the posts, events, and topics in the open group are visible to other users on the platform. Non-group members cannot create content in the group or comment on any of the posts, events, or topics unless they join the open group.
- Closed Group: A closed group is a group where members within the community (logged-in to the platform) can only join by invitation from one of the group managers. The stream, events, and topics created in the closed group are not visible to people that are not a member of the group. A non-group member is only allowed to read the about page, the group manager, and the members of the group.
Create, edit and delete
You can add a group by using the ‘+’ button in the header menu.
Then you can decide to create a public, open or closed group. Once a group is created, the group type can only be changed by the content or site managers.
You can also add a group via the group overview page of your own profile.
When a group has a physical location, it can be specified for this group as well.
The group manager, content managers, and site managers can edit the group information, delete and manage the memberships of all groups.
On top of that, content managers and site managers can manage the content within the group as well.
- You can only delete a group managed by you.
- A group can be deleted on the edit group page.
Note that deleting a closed group will also delete all of the posts, events, and topics created in the closed group.
The Group Manager
When you create a group, you automatically become the group manager. You can only manage the members of a group that is managed by you.
A group manager can:
- add users to an open, public, or closed group
- add multiple users at once by separating each user with a comma (',')
- change the role of a member into group manager or normal group member
- remove a member from a group.
- The role "Group Admin" cannot be given to any user. This role is granted automatically to higher roles when joining a group.
(Note: when removing members from a closed group they will not be able to see the content anymore, including the content they have created themselves.)