User Roles

Open Social comes with several standard roles for members, each with a different set of permissions. Distributing these roles makes your community scalable. It allows different users to manage specific parts of the community, without providing too many permissions to break/disturb the site.
 

  • Anonymous user (AN). Users that have not logged in. They are not allowed to perform actions on OS. They only have limited access to public content and are not able to see the profiles of members.

  • Authenticated or logged-in user (LU). Users that have registered for the platform. They can post comments, edit and create content, events, and groups. They can also join other groups and events.

  • Content manager (CM). Users who are in charge of the daily operation of the platform. They can delete and unpublish any content, posts, comments, and groups. Editing content is limited in order to guarantee that editorial rights remain with the original author of the content.

  • Site manager (SM). Users who are in charge of the configuration and management of the platform and are able to manage all user accounts.

  • Group Manager/Event Manager (GM/EM). When an LU creates a group or an event, they automatically become the group or event manager. This gives them the extra permissions related to member management in the group or event.