Content visibility

Post, Events and Topics have two visibility settings:

  • Public. All users including the users who have not logged in (anonymous users) can see this content.
  • Community. Only users who have logged in can see this content.
  • Note: If posts, events or topics are created inside a closed group, the visibility of this content is forced to Group members

When a piece of content is created outside a group, the visibility of this piece of content can be configured for this specific content. When a piece of content is created inside a group, the visibility of this piece of content is set by the group it belongs to.

 

Content visibility

 

Site wide visibility settings:

- Disable public visibility option

If you don't want regular users to be able to create public content, you can disable this for all users. Go to > dashboard and then > 'Public Visibility Settings'.

When the public visibility is disabled:

  • Regular users can not create content that is visible to anonymous users.  
  • Content managers and site managers can still create content visible to anonymous users, they can even make the content of normal users public by editing their content.
  • When changing the visibility to public: the original author is still able to edit his content, but he is not allowed to change the visibility setting.

Default visibility setting

As a site manager, it is also possible to set the default visibility setting to public or community. This helps in avoiding users creating public content without really noticing it. 

 

 

 

 

visibility setting exampl