There are 3 main registration options that can be set-up in Open Social. You can reach this setting via the dashboard: /admin/config/people/accounts
1. Open Sign-up
This means that the 'sign-up' button in the top right menu is visible, and everyone can create an account. On top of that one can choose to let users verify their email before they are able to enter the site. Read about the pro's and con's!
2. Approval process
Setting: Visitors, but Site manager approval is required
The 'sign-up' button is visible, but after inserting their name and email address, a message is shown that a Site manager need to approve their registration.
The Site managers receive an email notification with a link to approve a user. Untill it is approved, the account has status ' blocked'. To approve, simply 'un-block' the user via the people overview, or by clicking on the link in the email.
3. On invitation
Setting: Site managers only
The sign-up' button is hidden and only Site managers can create an account for a users. When creating an account via the people overview, the user receives an email with a login link.